top of page

What Is Loom Beading? An Explanation In My Own Words Part 1

Let's get this out of the way first and foremost, this is NOT a blog that is boring with uninterested information that most of you don't care to know. While I will be giving you factual information, my intentions for this post are simple. To give you the basic information on Loom Beading as if you were looking into trying it out yourself. As well as, some insight into my own ways of loom beading, and anything I think you'd find useful and may want to know. This will be a multi blog series!


So.. Let's Do This!


What Is Loom Beading?

Loom Beading, also referred to as Bead Weaving, is a technique that some use to create beaded jewelry, bags, and other beaded art forms. Most people know loom beading to be the technique used by Native Americans and how they create all of their beautiful beaded goods. Honestly, you can use a loom to create lots of different types of art. For example, regular weaving, same concept just with yarn or like materials to make rugs, coasters, wall art and more!


Materials Used

The only piece of equipment used is the Loom, it is usually wooden or plastic. You can purchase one at many craft stores or online. In my case, I decided to make my own! And I also have a tutorial on how I made the loom I currently use daily, as well as the first loom I made, with materials from the Dollar Tree. You can make your own loom with little to no money, seriously!


The link to my tutorial is below.


Per requested by many, I am in the works of creating another, longer, more in depth tutorial that will be available on my YouTube channel, and most likely my Pinterest.


Along with my new tutorial, I will also be coming out with an online "Follow Along" that will include detailed, step-by-step instructions and video clips on how to make your own loom! With this purchase you will also have the option to receive an additional goody package that will include all the supplies you need to get started making beaded jewelry. Some of the things included will be, beading thread, beading needles, 3 random colors of beads, a ribbon clasp and some cording! You will have enough supplies to make at least 2 bracelets! This will be available here on my website, in the very near future.

Here is what my Bead Loom looks like.

My Daily Used DIY Bead Loom

Learn To Make Your Own Beading Loom Here

Apart from the Loom, other materials that are used for Bead Loom work include:

Beading Thread: You can use most any types of thread like nylon, thin wire, string, cotton string, etc. I personally use Nylon Seed Bead Thread.

Beading Needle: The most common type of needles used are long thin needles with a bit bigger of an eye to pass your thread through easily. Honestly there's so many different types, you figure out which you like best once you've tried a few.

• Beads: Most commonly Seed Beads. Which is a style of bead. Pretty much they are smaller beads, can be round, cylinder shaped or any other shape. Just small. I personally use the Miyuki brand. More specifically the Miyuki Delicas because of their consistency in shape and size, they fit so well together and really makes your work look cohesive. I also really like the Toho brand.

I have linked both brands to a great online store that sales them both.

Beading/Jewelry Glue (optional): I highly suggest using a good jewelry/beading glue because it really helps seal your lose ends of your thread and keeps your work together better. I use G-S Hypo Cement Jewelry Glue on the ends of my work and wherever I had to start a new thread.

Other Supplies: Scissors, Ruler, Ribbon Clasps, Hemp Cord, Leather, Chain with Lobster Clasp, Sliding Clasp.



One of my designs made with the Miyuki Delica Beads

Miyuki Delica Beads size 11/0

Watch for my next blog post for more bead loom information and comment any questions you have, or information you'd like to know!

Kommentare


bottom of page